What’s the Buzz?

My good friend asked me if I wanted to join her for a 5K last weekend, to which I had to reply with “well, I’d like to, but I’m going out of town with a guy. There’s a guy. I feel weird I haven’t told you about him yet.”

I’d seen her a few times since meeting Buzz and this is the same friend who had the CTJ with me about Lucky, so it’s definitely in our realm of girlfriend chatter, but each time we were in big groups and I don’t know how to bring up good things like this. She, again no holds barred, told me I SHOULD feel weird. And that’s why we’re friends.

I prefer self-deprecation and dating stories that are so bad they’re good, but this one is just good. I was walking the line of it being so awesome I wanted to tell everyone and their mom about it and it being so awesome I wanted to keep it all to myself. So, yeah, either way it’s awesome.

So this is my way of also awkwardly telling you something that is only getting more awkward based on the fact that I’ve been holding out for so long.

How long? Seven weeks, not that I’m counting like a 16-year-old girl.

The deets? He’s a very age-appropriate 30. We met on Match, but depending on our level of intoxication, you may get another story if you ask. We did the standard progression of dates and on our third, I found out he’s a good cook and a great kisser. He’s smart and funny and sweet and will admit to nerding it out at times. He’s tall and a cuddler, which works well because he’s perfect to cuddle into. Oh, and last week he made it Facebook official, which worked out FAR better for him than the last guy who tried that one.

Why Buzz? Fortunately we really enjoy each other’s company, but UNfortunately, we have sometimes-opposite schedules, so so far, our relationship has been fueled by Starbucks, 5-Hour Energy and Red Bull. I’m buzzing 🙂

Leave a Reply

