What’s my age again?

After going out with a boy who looks young enough to be my son, a guy interviewing for a quick, cozy high school relationship and a guy who skateboarded to our first date, I was ready for a man and Mr. Grocery Store was wearing me down so I agreed to go out with him again. Don’t judge me. I was contemplating ways to ask him to buy me shiny things. That’s probably not helping with the judging thing.

On our planned date day, I didn’t hear from him to make plans. Yes, I could have texted him, but part of looking forward to dating a man is that you feel pursued and you know things will be handled.

I went for a run after work, probably too late to get ready for a date, but by that point I was over it. Apparently so was he. I heard from him at 6:45: “Sorry can’t make it another time.”

Wait, what?! I kinda think maybe it was part of a game…like I made it so hard for him to see me, that he decided to give me a taste of my own medicine and take back some of the power? I also kinda think I think too much. I didn’t respond.

The next day, I got this: “Emjaye. What a wuss!” Now I’m not even sure what this means. I was a wuss because I didn’t call him on his Wednesday bullshit?  Again, thinking too much to explain men who just don’t make sense. Again, didn’t respond.

Remember when I said I’d probably run into him everywhere after the last time I called things off? I didn’t. Apparently things weren’t awkward enough yet. After this most recent failed date, now it’s awkward enough so of course I ran into him! On Friday on my way into the gym I saw him before he saw me as we were walking toward each other. I waved and said hi and his reaction was priceless.

His initial reaction was to smile and his body language was open, but then I could see him remember the past few days and his shoulders hunched and he gave me a “I’m too cool” head nod and changed direction! Someone’s a sulky little boy.

So, my question is…WHAT would the point of dating someone old enough to be my dad be if he still acts like the late-20s dudes I am at least more attracted to and are better kissers anyway?!

Leave a Reply

