Fire Up For Fall Week 3

My Fire Up For Fall goals and progress:

1. Go to yoga in the park at least once.
1.2 Do one good thing (at least)!
2. Decorate two rooms.
2.2 Make at least two meals for the week type meals on Sundays. (1/2)
3. Do three 101 things. (1/3)
3.2 Read three books.
4. Save $400. ($200/$400)
4.2 Do four friend things. (1/4)
5. Go for an evening walk at least five times. (1/5)
5.2 Spend five hours a week writing or working on my side business. (3 weeks/10 weeks)

1. What have you done this week to help you achieve your goals?

I made dinner on Sunday, with enough leftovers for a few more meals during the week.

I went to the library and picked up the first (Chasing Harry Winston by Lauren Weisberger) of the three books I’m going to read…and I did start reading at the pool at the bach party!

I ended the month actually having spent less than I earned, so I saved $200 to my e-fund.

On Saturday, I went to my sister’s bachelorette party.  When we were little she would have hated me calling her friends my friends, but I really enjoy hanging out with them.

I went for my first evening walk last Tuesday.  It was windy and cooler than it has been and kind of a really neat fall-type night, so I went out to explore my new community (it’s big!) and find my mailbox and the pool and fitness center.

I worked on Lucky’s website and also starting working out the logistics of my side business (you know, for when I expand it beyond men I’m sleeping with) for more than five hours last week.

2.  What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

September was a huge rush around month for me and everything was leading up to the weekend of the 24/25 when I moved into my new place fully and did my triathlon, so in the week since I’ve tried to slow down and breath.  There’s still stuff to do around the house, but I took normal-length showers, actually shaved, painted my nails, took time to read…just the little things I’ve been missing.

  3. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? What are your goals? Ambitions?

I’ve actually been working on revising these lately! It’s a constantly changing plan.  I’ll be 32.  I see myself working at a marketing agency, having traveled and kept up with my athletic lifestyle and ready to start a family if I don’t have one already.  By then, I’d love to have found a way to have a summer house somewhere like Idaho.

  4. Give us a tip or a fact. About anything, what is something great you’ve  heard that everyone should know?

Putting  everything you can into your 401K isn’t the best way to save for your future.  Definitely max out your company match and then contribute to a Roth IRA. It’s a pre-tax/post-tax thing and also helps diversify your investments.  If you’re fortunate enough to STILL have money left to tuck away after maxing out your 401K and reaching the Roth IRA limit ($5,000 a year for a young person in a “low” income bracket), then get a financial planner, because that’s about as far as I know, but I’ll tell it to anyone who mentions retirement savings!

  5. Fun Question: What was your most recent dream that you can remember?

I had a dream last night that someone else was complaining that they had the same song stuck in their head that I’ve had in my head for a while (Take a Back Road by Rodney Atkins).

Positive Picture

I’ve been struggling to get back on track with working out since my triathlon and feeling guilty with taking the time off, so I choose this as a reminder that every day this week I have the chance to start again and get it right.

From Pinterest.

3 thoughts on “Fire Up For Fall Week 3

  1. I wish I understood your tip! Finance goes over my head totally unfortunately, especially USA finance.

    Awesome savings this month, that’s great when you are doing up a place too!

  2. I agree, five year plans are constantly changing. I always think it’s important to re-evaluate depending on where you are. where you aren’t and where you hope to be. I did a five year plan in 2008 and I look at where I thought I’d be in 2011 and chuckle. It’s such a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

