The Unexpected

I went to the DMV – or as the rebellious state of Arizona tries to call it, the MVD – at lunch today on the day that I originally started this draft.  And it sucked because that’s what it’s supposed to do. I think you have to be fat with no personality to work there. 

I apologize, that was rude.  I think it definitely helps if you are fat and have no personality.

Why was I there? To spend an hour fixing a mistake they had made. I registered my car when I moved back in 2009 as a 2007 (Toyota Corolla Sport, still love her). Lucky for me, I don’t clean out my car and have that registration, not that it changes the story, but it does make me feel less crazy. When I renewed my registration in 2010, it had mysteriously become a 2006, which I didn’t notice.

I know now you’re saying, well if you had noticed the mistake the first time, you wouldn’t have had to do this…yes, I would have, just a year ago. When my registration came for this year, it was still mysteriously a 2006, which meant I was due for the dreaded emissions test.

All my research told me 2007s really don’t need the test and even driving into the testing facility, there was a huge sign telling me most 2007 and newer cars don’t need testing, but my notice from the MVD told me it did, so I was following the rules. The guy was super confused and called a manager, who was the only one among the three of us to realize that although my car is a 2007, the renewal notice said it was a 2006, and that she could take my money and test it, but she didn’t want to.

So, today the day I originally wrote this draft, I went to the MVD to renew it as a 2007 and take off the required emissions test. And I spent an hour there and I was directed to no fewer than three lines and the person who helped me was fat and had no personality. I’m sorry, but it’s true.

Any other stereotypes? There were actually some surprisingly good-looking people there, but some real ugos as well. There was a kid who looked like Shawn White no doubt getting his driver’s license for the first time, and since I had just seen Friends with Benefits over the weekend, that just made me laugh.

Anyway, this day in the life story was not the original point of this post. The original point was that I was weirdly hopeful when I walked into the MVD.

I was like, wow, this place has such a bad rap, but maybe they will buck that and the wait won’t be long and the people will be nice and funny and it won’t smell like gross fast food and there won’t be children crying loudly. Oh yeah, it also smelled like gross fast food and the acoustics made the screaming children sound even louder.

So, the experience was as it was expected to be, but the moral of the story is that it could have been better.  It’s always better when you expect one thing and get something else. Well, usually…and let’s focus on those instances.

One of my favorite quotes is that it’s never too late to be the person you’re meant to be. I spent many younger years doing what was expected, good or bad, and have had a lot more fun recently doing whatever I want, whether it’s what is expected or not.  I enjoy becoming who I am, not staying who others think I am.

I still sometimes feel held back by others’ expectations, or even expectations I set for myself, but stepping outside of that is always a thrilling thing.  I think that was a huge draw in making my 101 in 1001 list.  It’s been a little over a year and some of the desire behind some of the ideas has waned, but it’s a nice reminder to keep doing new things!

Leave a Reply

