SFC8

My goals:

1.  Save $750. ($575.46/$750)
2.  Write two short stories. (0/2)
3.  Outline my novel.
4.  Take a class.
5.  Run 231 miles. (139/231)
6.  Bike 120 miles. (74/120)
7.  Learn to play a song on the guitar.
8.  Make a dress.
9.  Volunteer four times. (5/4)
10.  Get to 115. (121.4)

1.  What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

I ran 31.5 miles.  It was a big week!

I weighed in at 121.4.  Frustrating after that big week of running and barely having an appetite.

I decided to cut myself a break and acknowledge that the reason I feel like my “savings” is not coming so easily is that in March I signed up for my company’s 401k (since now they match) and my take home has been hurting.  But the pre-tax money they invest for me still counts as savings, so I added the money that’s been taken out since the beginning of the challenge to my total, putting me at $575.46.  That makes me feel better!

2.  What did you do this past week to make you feel good about yourself?

Sometimes I consciously remind myself to make every week day about something other than work so I don’t get stuck in the wake up, go to work, eat, go to sleep, do it again rut.  This week I did okay with it.  Wednesday I think was the best and I left work a little early, went home and pulled off a long run and it felt great.  Then I sat on the patio and enjoyed the unexpected rain with a book and a well-earned beer.  Breaking up my routine makes me smile.

3.  How do you measure success of your goals?

I like to follow the whole SMART approach to goals, so I make sure they (usually) have specific requirements and being a part of this challenge puts a time limit on them as well. 

4.  What is failure to you when it comes to goals?

Not meeting them, although I feel okay if I at least tried.  Unfortunately some of them I haven’t even started! 

5.  Fun Question: If you could hop on a plane right now, where would you go?

I’ve been dreaming of Belize for a long time and I’m definitely feeling the call of the beach lately, so there!

One thought on “SFC8

Leave a Reply

