Bachelors #4 and #5

Yep, we’re stacking them in. Well, WERE.

I had a date with Bach #4 on Saturday at 4:30.  At 4:15 I was drunk at the pool with girlfriends.  They very politely sent him a text to tell him I was snowed in and not going to make it, but then invited him to the pool.  Because everyone wants to meet a potential for the first time whilst in her bikini.

I remember him getting there, he chatted it up with the other guy at the pool, he was a little too touchy-feely and then my friend called me a cab and sent me home.  Poor Bach #4. 

We set up a date for later this week so I can actually assess the situation while sober.

Bach #5 was another one I let slide when Non-Mush was happening.  We had never met up, but I had enjoyed our convos up until then and he seemed to have a good sense of humor.  We set up a patio sitting date for Sunday afternoon and he picked the place – a few miles from his house.  And the patio actually sucked.  And so did the coffee.

I called him once I got in my car to tell him that my GPS told me it was going to take FORTY-THREE minutes to get there so I was gonna be a little late.  He didn’t pick up on my emphasis that it was going to take me FORTY-THREE minutes to meet this kid for stinking coffee. 

That plus my hangover and by the time I got there I was already checked out.  We talked, it wasn’t horrible, but there was a bit of dead air and staring.  Then he would tell me I was pretty and he was having a good time. 

Even though it had taken me FORTY-THREE minutes to get there, I was ready to leave.  I like short dates, but he was content to stare at a stranger all day.  Two hours later, we finally left. 

He asked me out again and I said yes and that maybe he could come to my hood next time and let him know that was bad first date etiquette.  After writing this I’m not too sure why I said yes.

This was the date when I realized it’s just not fun anymore.  I want to be nervous and excited for dates, not filled with dread and view them as a waste of time.  I’m being super nitpicky and not even giving these poor guys a chance.

So, I have a few more I’m talking to.  If I decide I WANT to go out with them I’ll go, if I decide I’m just using them as means to an end, I won’t waste either of our time. 

I’m going to have a beautiful summer and if there are men in it, cool, if not, cool.  I have much better things to do with my time!

8 thoughts on “Bachelors #4 and #5

  1. I think that’s a good way of looking at it… it still sounds to me that you have feelings for Non Mush, and no matter who you meet up with they are all going to look like frogs in comparison… so I think that looking at summer with that attitude is a really good idea.

    • Yeah, it’s no fun forcing it when I’m not ready and I think still being hung up on him is a big part of it, so when that goes away on its own, I’ll be in a better place to try to meet someone new.

  2. I agree with Amy. Maybe a little distance and a bit of a break from dating might be in order. After all, it should be fun, and it sounds like you’re not having fun. Even if you do take a break, there will still be awesome guys when you come back. (I keep telling myself this in regards to women, at least! 🙂 )

  3. Pingback: The Meet Market: Community Events « The Next Moment

  4. Pingback: Frog #5 Redo « The Next Moment

  5. Pingback: Frog #4 Redo « The Next Moment

  6. Pingback: See ya, eHarmony! « The Next Moment

  7. Pingback: Dating, According to MJ, 060911 Edition « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

