Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

Remember when I was all, “I am conceited confident, but I’m not perfect, sometimes I still call myself a girl when I want to be considered a woman“?

Approximately four hours later, I proved ALL of those things with one sentence.

Last night, I walked into my apartment gym and as I was getting on the last open treadmill, the guy next to me started to get off his.

Talking to people at the gym – especially the small apartment gym – is awkward, but I had something to say, so I politely waited until he disconnected his earbuds from the TV on the tread. 

“Are you afraid you’re going to lose to a girl?” 

Who AM I?  (Please note that one of my worst habits is being the one laughing the hardest at my own jokes, so there was no real mistaking the intention behind the challenge and he laughed too.)

Now, was he getting off his treadmill because…

A. He was done
B.  He WAS afraid he was going to lose to a girl (perhaps one of those times when girl is appropriate?)
C.  The treadmill I had jumped on was broken and he was gallantly giving his up to me

Little bit of column A, little bit of column C.  Oops.  Not so much B because his time killed mine, but hey, I’m running through an injury here!

I’ve always thought that my cuteness interferes with people hearing my message (well, always after I heard that quote on HIMYM), but perhaps my abrasive, ball busting way of flirting  interferes with men seeing my cuteness?  Ah, clarity.

3 thoughts on “Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

  1. Depends on the guy’s sense of humor. Frankly, I find it kind of a turn-on when a girl can humorously bust my proverbial balls a little bit (proverbial because, well, the real thing isn’t much fun). The only time it doesn’t work is if she’s the type of person that doesn’t know when to stop making the jokes, know what I mean?

    • Totally! I like to show I can deal it and take it, and need a guy who can keep up but know when enough is enough. I spent good first and second dates with a guy, both of us kind of trading quips, but by the third date, I was ready to let some walls down (because, admittedly, it can be a bit of a defense mechanism), but he was still throwing the playful punches and it was just old at that point.

Leave a Reply

