SFC3

My goals:

1.  Save $750. ($50/$750)
2.  Write two short stories. (0/2)
3.  Outline my novel.
4.  Take a class.
5.  Run 231 miles. (41/231)
6.  Bike 120 miles. (30/120)
7.  Learn to play a song on the guitar.
8.  Make a dress.
9.  Volunteer four times. (1/4)
10.  Get to 115. (121.2)

1.  What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

I ran 17.5 miles and biked 14 miles.

I got paid on Friday and apparently just LOVE having a slim checking account, because I moved $50 into my savings accounts for my weddings fund.  I find that to be the easiest way for me to save – taking out what I want to save at the beginning instead of just saving whatever’s left at the end.  Also, I said no to a trip I really wanted to go on over Memorial Day because I knew I couldn’t really afford it and it wouldn’t help me with my savings goals. 

I weighed in at 121, four pounds up from last week!  So THAT’s what happens when you eat Oreos all week.  And by all week I mean one box from Thursday to Saturday.

2.  What did you do this past week to make you feel good about yourself?

Um, I loved myself a lot this week.  I pushed through a hard workout instead of throwing in the towel and trying again after work.  I completely rocked another hard run instead of adding (easier and unprescribed) intervals.  

I went to a swanky happy hour with girlfriends.  I painted my nails (don’t be fooled, I do this twice a week, every week).  I wore my favorite heels twice and realized I’ve mastered ANOTHER woman skill – walking in heels effortlessly. 

I completed my third race on Saturday two minutes under my goal. My mom took me to get pedis after!  That night I was ready for bed at 10, but then I remembered I’m still just 26, rallied and went out at 11 for a drink and people-watching with some friends – in heels, feeling sexy!

On Sunday (I guess this was another reward), I said fuck it and laid in bed and finished a dirty, dirty chick lit book.  Then I lazed by the pool.

I took a break from online dating because I wasn’t feeling it and also took a break from social media in general.

3.  Are your SFC goals your ultimate goals or steps to your ultimate goals?  Do you find it easier to set big goals or do you like making mini-goals?

Most of my SFCs are mini-goals to keep me on pace for my 2011 goals.  A few others are just one-off things I want to do!  I like making big goals and then figuring out how to make them happen through little goals. Plus, since I love crossing things off my lists, mini-goals help me stay on track because I feel productive! 

4.  What are some of your ultimate goals, things on your bucket list?

Writing a novel, owning a home, international travel, having a family.  I actually haven’t thought too BIG recently, I need to start dreaming big again!

5.  Fun Question: If you could achieve only one more thing in your life, what would it be?

I totally ripped this question from eHarmony (thrilled Amy used my Qs this week!) and when guys pick it, I give an answer that probably makes them shit their pants, but best to be honest, right?  If I could achieve one more thing, I would want a happy, healthy family.  My parents were/are great and I’ve always wanted to be just as great a mom to little ones of my own as my mom was to me.  There are of course lots of things, but if I had to pick, I’d pick that.

Positive picture for the week:

 
{from}

10 thoughts on “SFC3

  1. Love your goals, and you are doing so great on them all! Having a family is the most fulfilling, frustrating, opportunity for self-growth and unconditional love, happy-making thing I have ever done! I hope you get the opportunity to do so as well!
    Can’t wait to see how you are doing next week!

  2. Thanks for such great questions this week! Really enjoyed answering them. BTW – totally want the week your described in answer two – it sounds amazing!

  3. What a great week! Family is a really beautiful thing to aspire to, it’s changed me beyond all recognition, defo be up front too you don’t want any bumps further down the line!

    Good luck with this week 🙂

  4. Congrats on your loss! I know what you mean at saving in the beginning vs. the end of your paycheck… however I tend to put more into my savings then intended because somehow I always end up transferring back into my regular account at the end of my pay period. I’m such a bad spender!

  5. I love stepping away from social media every now and then … it can be so overwhelming, and it feels so good to detox and live just in the real world for a while!

  6. “Well done is better than well said”…so true! Also, congrats on your progress with saving! We did the same thing (checking to savings) when we were saving for our wedding. I think it made us appreciate the big day that much more when we finally pulled it off. Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

