Insanity

No, this isn’t about how I took on the P90X wannabe called Insanity.  I’m not insane, afterall.  Or maybe I am…

The popular definition of insanity is doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting different results. 

I’ve been thinking about the things I make a habit out of doing.  The bad things that is.

Every week my to-do list includes “clean out car.”  And I do and then every week the tupperware containers, cardigans, papers and water bottles pile up and I put it back on the list.

I procrastinate emptying the dishwasher.  It’s probably the easiest household chore and in fact, along with the trash and the kitty litter box, was one of the only chores I was asked to do as a child….we might be on to something here.  I hate it for some reason, but we all know that when you don’t do it, the new dirty dishes pile up, making it an even more daunting task.  When I don’t do it, suddenly it’s easier to let the pots and pans pile up too.  “Empty dishwasher/sink” is also constantly on my to-do list.

“Clean my desk” should be on the list because it’s kind of embarrassing, but I don’t even try.  The organized mess works for me. 

And then of course there’s the endless dates.  I don’t always expect this to go differently.  After a while I get beat down and imagine they’re all jerks or have no personality or balls – it’s a fine line I need my man to walk apparently – and I give up for a while.

Speaking of (part A)…I’m reading JWOWW’s relationship advice book.  There I said it.  It’s entertaining, we’ll say that.  I might write about it once I finish (like tomorrow because it’s due at the library), but for now, I’ll bestow upon you her estimation that for every dozen textbook assholes, there’s one decent guy out there worth getting to know.  Oh joy.

Speaking of (part B)…I’m getting burnt out on dating.  Not in the jaded, hate-men kinda way.  Just burnt out on the actual ritual.  It’s not even that I’ve had that much bad luck lately, but more that it’s just boring and exhausting after a while.  I like Mr. Tuesday Night but am at a loss for a phase two because I feel like I’ve been out so much and done everything.  Even sushi is getting old at this point.

But, if I gave up, the opposite would be just as true.  As my dad told me once, he doesn’t know where to meet young potential future ex-boyfriends (my term, not his), but he’s pretty sure it doesn’t happen by sitting at home.  That would be insane.  Too.

Leave a Reply

