WWW12



Life's Journey with a SmileMy 10 goals are:

  1. Lose 5 pounds in January and maintain (starting is 122.6).
  2. Sign up for a new dating site in February (assuming Mr. Amazing doesn’t waltz in before that).
  3. Climb the seven summits of Phoenix in seven days.
  4. Make a real meal at least once a week.
  5. Adopt a pet.
  6. Get a bike and decrease my gas usage.
  7. Write my guest post for The Chick Lit Bee.
  8. Roll over my 401(k)s.
  9. Do six things with friends (happy hours, game nights, etc.).
  10. Find and participate in a volunteer opportunity.

This week’s questions:

1.  What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

I bought a bike and crossed off that goal! I’m still a little timid on it, so I’m not at the “decrease gas useage” stage yet, but it’s definitely a good time to start that!

I actually cooked a lot this week, including a veggie burger with roasted reds and brinner and recreating a BBQ chopped salad.

I controlled my eating a lot better this week than I have in a long time.  I wasn’t snacking as much.  I ate up all the good for me groceries I stocked last week and had veggies at every meal (well, lunch and dinner) and fruit as snacks.  I got a little cranky and started craving chocolate, but the Reese’s I bought in a moment of weakness is still sitting in my pantry.  Plus I was so excited to go out and ride my new bike, I did a few two-a-day workouts.  I think diversifying my workouts (and the more mindful eating) is really going to help me in my weight loss goal.

2. With one week left, what is your plan?

Keep up the status quo.  I feel accomplished in the challenge so far, but now see that adopt a pet isn’t going to happen for me right now, so I’m going to make my meal for the week and, as I said, focus on exercise and eating well, to make progress, even though my 5 pounds probably isn’t going to work either.

3. What was the highlight of your week?

Getting and riding my bike.  It’s something I’ve wanted for a long time and being on it made me feel like a kiddo again!  Oh, and yesterday, I went with my mom to see Maya Angelou talk and it was incredible.  If there’s a tough old lady who’s going to make you stand up and own your life, it’s her!  And she’s funny too!

4. Did you have a down point? If so, how did you push past it?

Going to my friend’s mom’s funeral on Saturday was really tough.  Beyond the sadness of the occasion, there was also the reminder of how short life is and feeling like I haven’t done much and being frozen thinking I can’t and that my life as I want it hasn’t even started yet. 

But, it was also a reminder of how short life is.  Yes, I know, I already said that, but now I mean it in the opposite way.  I was reminded that I can be frozen with the overwhelmingness of it all or I can go after what I want, be who I want to be and at the end of it all, whether it’s sooner or later, have people say wonderful things about me like they did about my friend’s mom, who died way too young but lived the entire width of her life.

5. Fun Question of the Week: What’s your favourite television show from the past? Presently?

Over the past few weeks I have become obsessed with Being Erica, which I think counts as both past and present because I love it now, but I’m catching up on old episodes.  You know you have a problem when Hulu reminds you that you’ve been watching for three hours and asks if maybe you want to take a break!  All time, I’d say I was really into LOST and currently watch  How I Met Your Mother almost daily.

Positive picture of the week:

I made this based on a quote from Being Erica (obsessed)!

5 thoughts on “WWW12

    • I’m in the middle of Season 2 right now! And by middle I mean I have 2 episodes left. And I started it on Friday! You Canadians are on to something!

  1. Ooh, your BBQ chopped salad sounds interesting, do you mind sharing the recipe?

    I’ve come to the conclusion that portion control has to be next on my list. I’m almost where I want to be, but, it’s going to take me not being sloppy with my eating. I’m glad that you’re seeing encouraging results with that.

    B and I just recently found HIMYM through a friend, what can I say, we don’t have cable, and we love it.

    • I used to work at California Pizza Kitchen and the BBQ Chopped was the most popular salad, but it was also one of those salads that was targeted by nutritionists claiming just getting a pizza would be better for you, but it’s so good! It’s just lettuce, tomato, corn, black beans, scallions and cilantro and at the restaurant they add jicama, tortilla strips and cheese, which I had none of 😦 Then in place of the usual chicken, I put avocado on mine and top with ranch and BBQ sauce. I’m not big on salads at home because they’re usually boring, but when I add good stuff I remember how good they can be!

Leave a Reply

