Clothes for the Funeral

What do you do when an old friend starts sneaking around with – and eventually outright dating – your ex?

Guy code says friend’s exes are completely off limits?  Are the rules so different for women? 

I’m so torn on this because one on hand, I don’t care.  I’ve been totally over this guy for years and we’re great friends now.  I’m not feeling territorial.  I’m not jealous and thinking I missed out on something great – yes, we dated for a long time, but he’s not the right one for me. 

I’m just offended by how this new relationship developed and was hidden from me and I hate how the way they both treat me (sadly, mostly her) changed.

I know her pretty well and I felt like I understood his and her thought processes for getting into the relationship in the first place and even for the way they acted afterward, but those excuses, whether they make them or I do it for them, don’t excuse shitty behavior. 

It got me thinking about the times I’ve avoided awkward situations.  Times I’ve pussy footed the truth or even lied outright and I don’t want to be that person. 

If you’re going to regret something, don’t do it. If you’re going to do something, don’t regret it.  Put on your big girl panties and own your actions.  Own your life.

So, now comes the funeral clothes part.

What do you do when the old (maybe former) friend/your ex’s new girlfriend’s mom dies? 

You send your condolences.  NOT via Facebook.  A lot of people were doing this, but it weirds me out.

You go home and hug your own mom.  And your dad.  And you call your sister and give her a phone hug.

You cancel your plans and attend the funeral.

You still don’t know how to act around this girl but you realize what’s important and what’s not.  It’s time to see if you’re ready to stand in your truth.

One thought on “Clothes for the Funeral

  1. Pingback: WWW12 « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

