Stand in Your Truth

As I’ve mentioned, I love Suze Orman.  I don’t get to watch her show very much, but last weekend I was at the gym while it was on (because that’s how exciting my Saturday night was) and I got to catch up with Suze while getting in some miles on the treadmill.

The episode was all about promoting her new book, The Money Class, and the big message was “stand in your truth.”  Basically, she wants people to be honest with themselves about their money situation – as it is today, not as it was or as they wish it was – and live accordingly.  It also means living below your means, but within your needs.  There’s a whole pledge she’s asking people to sign.

I didn’t sign because I’m not THAT cheesy and I feel like I do okay with living that anyway, but I did write “stand in your truth” in my calendar for the week and repeating that mantra really helped me in many ways!

This week, a few opportunities came up to eat out or go for drinks and I was also seriously craving some take out a few times, but my truth was that I have planned events later this month and need to save some of my eating out budget.  More so, I was stocked up on good stuff at home, so why waste that? 

I thought about buying something to wear out last night for St. Patty’s Day, but I’d rather spend my clothes budget on something else.  I don’t look particularly good in green!  So, I wore old green clothes last night and had just as much fun!

It wasn’t all about money, either.  I stood in my truth and balanced my “calorie bank account” a little better than I have been.  I stood in my truth and didn’t eat just because I was bored.

And then, of course, there’s the being honest with myself about who I do and do not want to spend time with.

Common sense? Maybe.  But it’s a nice reminder when you know the right thing to do, to let (sometimes make) yourself do it.

One thought on “Stand in Your Truth

  1. Pingback: Clothes for the Funeral « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

