Like a Double Date. But Not.

I like to pretend I’m invisible.  I’ve moved around a lot recently and always feel “new” to whatever area I happen to live in and have this idea that I’m too new to run into people I know when I’m out and about. 

But I’m not.  Invisible or too new.

There was the time I ran into my boss at Blockbuster.  I had stopped in on my way out to meet a date.  In getting ready for the date I put on a super slutastic dress, but at the last minute decided to throw some jeans on underneath it and make it more of a long tunic.  Thank goodness.  I don’t need my boss looking at me everyday thinking about that time he almost saw my naughty bits when I was by myself at Blockbuster on a Saturday night.

Then there was last night when I went on a date with OBE.  The first since our debate date last week.  I kinda like him so we’ll see where we end up, but that’s not the point.  The point is that I ran into my hairstylist there.

Oh yeah, and a guy I went out with over the weekend.  And his date.

Such is the awkwardness of online dating.  You have to assume the other person is seeing other people as well, but it’s just kind of weird when you become a spectator to that date.  They sat maybe five feet away from us, but at the bar with their backs to us. 

I spent most of the night trying to sneak peaks because I wasn’t 100% sure it was actually him, although, I’m not sure how many 6’5″ strawberry blond (seriously, he’s adorable) Adonises (oh yeah, and kinda sexy) are lurking around town.  

Before they left (after two hours, my date with Adonis was four, just saying), to add another layer, OBE said, “I worked out with that guy the other day.  He lives in my apartment complex.”

OBE  lives a mile from the bar.  And to the best of my knowledge, Adonis lives by me, 15 miles north, which is why it was so odd to see him there in the first place.

I have come up with the following possibilities:

Initial reaction:  Adonis lied about where he lives.  And is actually married with lots of blonde ridiculously-sized babies.

On second thought:  Maybe there ARE a handful of 6’5″ strawberry blondies parading around town.  At least if it doesn’t work out with either of these guys, I can do a simple trade.

Or maybe:  OBE lied for some reason. Or also didn’t get a good look at the guy at the gym and/or bar.

I couldn’t take it anymore and had to find out. Through a series of text messages this morning, I have uncovered the following:

Yes, it was Adonis at the bar.  Although he initially said he was out with a friend (and we all know that guys call guy friends “buddies”) and asked why I didn’t say hey, I called him out and told him it would have been awkward on his date.  He said, “it is what it is” and I said, well my date, who thinks he knows you and that you live near him, might have minded. 

Adonis insisted he lived by me and laughed at the situation.

OBE said that he was pretty sure it was the guy from his gym, but that he could have been mistaken. And he asked me why and I had to ‘fess up.  And then my comment I had made about how Adonis was likely counting on his height and bicep muscles to override his ugly shoes and get him laid came back to bite me in the ass.

And then OBE laughed at the situation.   

Is there a manual for this somewhere?

So, faith in men and dating, particularly online dating, might be a little shaky right now.  But, I think the important thing to remember here is that I’m not crazy.  Or blind.

And that I laughed at the situation.

Leave a Reply

