WWW4

Four weeks in? Wow!

Life's Journey with a Smile

My 10 goals are:

  1. Lose 5 pounds in January and maintain (starting is 122.6).
  2. Sign up for a new dating site in February (assuming Mr. Amazing doesn’t waltz in before that).
  3. Climb the seven summits of Phoenix in seven days.
  4. Make a real meal at least once a week.
  5. Adopt a pet.
  6. Get a bike and decrease my gas usage.
  7. Write my guest post for The Chick Lit Bee.
  8. Roll over my 401(k)s.
  9. Do six things with friends (happy hours, game nights, etc.).
  10. Find and participate in a volunteer opportunity.

This week’s questions:

1.  What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

I banished my scale. Weighing myself every day, multiple times a day, was not working for me.  I had planned a weigh in today, but I am actually going to wait it out until the end of the month.  When I’m not so focused on what the chocolate I ate did to my weight and why my weight didn’t go down after a “good” day, I think my weight will find its natural balance, which is closer to 117, again.

I made turkey mini-loaves with roasted red potatoes and zucchini and I went ice skating with a group of friends for Kanga’s birthday.

2.  How are you feeling about the goals you set for yourself? Overwhelmed? Too easy? Just right?

I’m a good mix of overwhelmed and thinking they’re too easy, so I guess just about right. It’s funny how things change though because, similar to some of my big goals for 2011, I’m already wondering if they’re things I really want and my attention has been stolen by some other shiny thing.

3.  Do you prefer to exercise inside or outside?

I go very back and forth on this.  I used to be outside only, but I’ve learned to love the gym in the past few months.  There are days I feel like I can rock it out on the treadmill and then days when I know I’ll be faster outside. Depends on my mood and the weather I suppose.  There are about seven months out of the year here where if I don’t get out and run before work (or about 8:00 a.m. on the weekends), it’s not happening because it just gets too hot, so my newfound love for the gym will serve me well come April.

4.  Are you a self-starter or do you need a little push?

I’m a self-starter.  The thought of just letting myself down by not going after what I want is enough to keep me going. 

5.  Fun Question of the Week: Why did you decide to start a blog?

I was so far out of the blog community until a college friend told me her friend blogged anonymously and I thought, hey that’s really cool and I started following her and jumped to other blogs and then eventually jumped in with my own.  I thought it was a really cool way to record my life and thoughts.  I also really like having it as an outlet for my writing and that writing regularly has helped me find my voice.

Positive picture for the week:


{from} 

4 thoughts on “WWW4

  1. Can I just say that weighing yourself alone is pretty brave in my book. Putting it on your blog? Blow me away now. I like that idea that goals vascilate somewhere between overwhelming and just right. That means I’m getting stretched. OK.

    • I love the positive picture – I love seeing what people come up with every week!

      It’s so funny to see what the scale does to people – everyone has a different scale story. I avoid the scale. I am not obsessed with weighing myself – I am an avoider… I actually think I should weigh myself more often to make myself more accountable.

  2. I try not to weigh myself too much, either. I get weighed-in (at Weight Watchers) on Wednesdays and don’t really weigh myself at home until Monday or Tuesday, just to see how on track I am.

    I love this series! I wish I had heard about it earlier on.

  3. I used to be an obsessive weigher. Every morning and every night just to track how what I did through the day affected my weight. Then I started working out more with weights and found my clothes fitting looser and my weight staying the same or creeping up. That’s when I switched to taking measurements instead. When I left Texas this summer my scale stayed behind and I honestly don’t miss it. I weigh in 1x a week at the gym now and the number on the scale doesn’t bug me on bit.

Leave a Reply

