WWW3

Life's Journey with a Smile

My 10 goals are:

  1. Lose 5 pounds in January and maintain (starting is 122.6).
  2. Sign up for a new dating site in February (assuming Mr. Amazing doesn’t waltz in before that).
  3. Climb the seven summits of Phoenix in seven days.
  4. Make a real meal at least once a week.
  5. Adopt a pet.
  6. Get a bike and decrease my gas usage.
  7. Write my guest post for The Chick Lit Bee.
  8. Roll over my 401(k)s.
  9. Do six things with friends (happy hours, game nights, etc.).
  10. Find and participate in a volunteer opportunity.

Now, on to this week’s questions!

1.  What have you done this past week to help you achieve your goals?

I kept up with my “make one real meal a week” with pizza amazingness part two last week, kind of a cop out to do a repeat, but I had the ingredients!  I went out with friends on Thursday and again last night (up to four now).  I wrote my chick lit guest post and sent it to my friend, Nancy, at The Chick Lit Bee and found an event to volunteer for and signed up (since my first attempt was a fail).  I kinda felt like I slumped this past week, but that’s not too shabby! 

My goal for January weight loss is not going as expected.  I was expecting that with kicking my running up, I’d be able to get back down to 117 without much additional effort, but it’s going the other direction and I’m seeing bigger numbers than I’ve ever seen on the scale and freaking out!  So I came up with a plan for eating for the next few weeks because I know it is a conscious thing that needs effort to work together with my exercise, so hopefully I’ll have positive progress to report on that soon.  

2.  Do you find that your motivation/mood changes in the winter? If so, what do you do to help/avoid it?

I definitely tend to get holiday brain between Thanksgiving and New Year’s, especially in terms of wellness.  Heading into the new year, though, with my resolutions laid out, I do feel focused and ready to take them on.  In terms of exercise, this is honestly the best time for it in Arizona (sorry, to anyone who got tons of snow just dumped on them last week, but we’re having highs almost hitting the 80s!) and I want to go outside and get my sweat on.  That kind of motivation wanes during the summer for me when I have like a two-hour window (3am-5am) to be outside and not be taken by heat exhaustion.

3.  Do you have any advice for your fellow challengers on staying on task?

I know a lot of the goals I’ve seen from others in the challenge are ongoing, but my advice would be that if there’s a goal that’s a one-time thing to do or achieve, do it.  It will do wonders for your confidence and determination to cross just one thing off the list early on.

4.  What day{s} of the week/month do you find it difficult to stay on task/motivated?

I often have big plans for the weekend (in terms of moving toward goals), but they tend to be forgotten or pushed aside for other things.  I’m much more focused during the week because I’m usually looking at my planner, which has all my to-dos laid out, daily and I am thinking about the tasks I want to accomplish.

5.  Fun Question of the Week:  If you were going on a road trip {longer than a day} who would you take with you? Where would you go?

This is a tough question because often I think that I’d like to go here or I’d like to do this or that with a special person, but I haven’t found that special person yet.  I’m getting better at telling myself that I don’t have to wait for someone else to do things I want to do, but still, of course it would be nice. 

Back to the question, though.  Go to a new state, visit a major U.S. metro and take a road trip are all on my 101 list, so I’ve put plenty of thought into this idea!  I’d want to road trip to Austin (it would be all three for me!) and I’d want my old roomie to come with me because we haven’t seen each other much since I moved to Arizona a year and a half ago and the 14.5 hour trip would give us plenty of time to catch up and it would be fun to explore a new city with her because even though she’s old and married now she’s still one fun chick! 

Picture, this is how I felt about my training this week:


{from}

9 thoughts on “WWW3

  1. just a thought: perhaps you’re seeing an increase in muscle mass rather than fat. if you were already a runner, your muscles may just be used to the activity so not using any extra energy

    i like your advice of knocking out the one time goals. now i kinda wish i had one that i could cross off my list 🙂

  2. I really wasn’t thinking about people in the warmer climates when I asked about motivation in the winter and I’m loving the responses and super jealous. I can’t imagine how hot it must get in the summer though keeping people indoors for the other reason!! It’s honestly too cold to even go outside right now… last night was just ridiculous. I can’t wait until the Spring when I can start running outside!

    • I don’t even know what too cold to go outside is like, but I’ve heard it’s pretty much just the opposite of when it’s too hot to go outside here. I’ll be jealous soon enough!

  3. I love your motivational picture for the week! Excellent! It seems everyone derails when the weekends come! Where you are is similar (in a way) to where I am. Here in New Orleans the winter is dry and cold but never cold for snow or anything. It’s more or less the wind that gets you because that’s when it feels the coldest. The summers here are HOT and not just the dry Arizona hot…we’re talking hot and troical humid. Spring here is the best time to be outside or days like today when we are in the upper 60’s.

    Keep up the good work!

  4. You’re motivating me to be motivated. And that’s taking something this winter. I think experiencing my first ever cold winter is shocking to my system. I miss days in the mid 60s and 70s. I’m finding myself rejoicing in reaching the 40s and I know I’ve been corrupted. Still, I have a hard time wanting to go to the gym when it’s this cold.

    For your weight loss – if you’re busy converting fat to muscle than you’re scale number will go up. It drives me nuts that I weigh more when I work out than when I don’t. But, I feel better, so I’ll take the higher number in exchange for a smaller size. Measurements have proven to be the only thing accurate for me to track progress.

    • I think you’re doing well. If I ever attempted a move to a cold climate, I know I’d be miserable for (at least) the whole first winter!

      I think the gaining muscle thing is what’s going on because my size really isn’t changing. My real goal is to lose body fat percentages, but I don’t have a scale that measures that, so I just get discouraged I guess, thanks for the reminder to stop!

    • I just filled myself in on your past blogs and saw that Austin is in the works for you. What an exciting adventure! I’m definitely making it there someday soon!

Leave a Reply

