Guideposts

Dear Ann Landers,
I’ve found myself in a bit of a pickle and was hoping for your guidance.  You see, my good friend is getting married and has asked me to be in the wedding.  That’s great, right?  The problem is…that I’m in love with the groom.  What’s a girl to do?
Cheers,
Emjaye

Okay, not really, but I recently spent time with the adorable couple – the only other time I’d met him I was completely hungover and there was a mariachi band, so this was the first time that actually counted – and found out that he’s a catch (and told her such, so it’s really not awkward). 

Smart, charismatic, funny and kind, he easily worked the party they were hosting.  He mixed drinks, talked sports, intelligently argued his points during a particularly intense board game and all the while gazed adoringly at my lucky friend and touching her anytime he got the chance.  Swoon.

I don’t want him.  I want people to tell me MY boyfriend is a catch instead of asking behind my back (and sometimes to my face), “what is SHE doing with HIM?”

He’s now one of my guideposts.  Some of my guideposts (like him) are the good guys who renew my faith that they do indeed exist.  Others are men I connect with who remind me that chemistry and similar core values are important. 

I’ve run into a couple of these men in my time…brief romantic interests, coworkers who adore their wives, friends, friends of friends (and okay, friends of boyfriends) and one completely intriguing, but random Facebook flirtation, who was (and still is) unfortunately taken. 

If I’m wasting time and heartache over a man who’s not really worth it, I think back on my guideposts and remember they’re out there and, more importantly, that I won’t find the good guy who I connect with when someone else is parked in my boyfriend spot.

One thought on “Guideposts

  1. Pingback: Back in the Trenches « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

