Eating Like a Grownup

Ugh, enough with the relationship crap, am I right?  I really am not always thinking about exes and future-exes and boys, boys, boys, I swear!

Case in point, today I wanted to switch gears and talk about wellness and food and all that good stuff.  One of the themes running through my many lists for 2011 is wanting to cook more and ensure that I’m eating healthy meals.  Yeah, we’re only a few days in, but so far, not so good. 

What types of things am I passing off as meals lately?  Christmas turkey leftovers, mustard and swiss on a Wasa cracker.  A Full Bar followed by string cheese and yogurt.  Coffee.  A crab cake and a handful of M&Ms (kind of separately).  PB&J (um, delicious, but I feel silly taking it to work because I am not actually 4).  McDonald’s.  Cereal for dinner.  Ugh.

And that’s all SINCE the new year started. 

Um, boyfriend?  Anytime now…I’m STARVING over here and need you to a. take me to dinner and b. come over so I can cook for two.  Oh, that’s right, we’re not talking about boys today.

You see, I’m not good at eating real meals.  It’s a convenience thing, a money thing, an impatient thing, a history of my relationship with food thing, a not wanting to eat the same leftovers for days on end thing.  It’s also an immature and unhealthy thing.

Even though that’s what I grew up with, it’s unusual for me to eat a vegetable if I’m not at my mother’s house.  My meals are usually more one-dimensional.  A burrito is my pièce de résistance and I don’t do sides. 

Generally I start snacking  and have a hard time stopping because there’s no real plan.  I really wouldn’t consider it a binge because I’m not stuffing it in mindlessly until discomfort.  It’s just a handful here, a snackie there and there’s no signal to my brain that I’ve had dinner. 

I’m 26 and I’d like to eat like a grownup now please.  Thank you. I’d like to plan meals, not munch while preparing them, sit down to eat, package up my leftovers for a thoughtful lunch the next day, maybe have a simple and small dessert and then move on with my evening.

I started small last night with pasta, zucchini and garlic rolls (although I did snag a roll once they were done).  I’m lusting after the delicious, but simple and healthy meals I see my foodie blog crushes making and eating and take note, collecting recipes for my once a week goal for the Winter Wonderland Challenge.  My body wants real foods and I’m going to be better about obliging that request.

2 thoughts on “Eating Like a Grownup

  1. I used to be the exact same way. I’ve been struggling to break that habit since I got married. Unfortunately, since my husband is male, his eating habits are worse than mine. 😉 At least he is a leftover devouring machine.

    I loathe left overs be they those I’ve cooked or taken home from a restaurant. I don’t eat them. I’ve learned to just not take things home unless someone else is interested in eating them.

    A couple of things that I did find helpful when I was (not so) gloriously single in Houston – the freezer and friends. I would cook something up and then immeadiately freeze half of it. That way I had enough for one meal and one day of reheat and the rest was safely frozen for reheating a couple of weeks down the line. For the friends half of it – we used to host “leftover” pot lucks where we’d all bring whatever we’d cooked through the week and eat each others food instead of our own. The other that worked really well was a leftover exchange – we’d all bring a couple of containers of leftovers to bible study and leave with different food – that way we could all cook but no one died of boredom from eating the same meal for a week.

Leave a Reply

