GTFO

Hi 2011. Welcome. I’m so excited to get to know you. In preparation for your arrival, I partied. 

I also did some cleaning. Before I left for L.A. I changed my sheets and made sure my house was beautifully clean so I could come back to a fresh start. I’m feeling a little materialistic and with Christmas gifts and gift cards, but don’t want to be buried in STUFF, so I created a nice little donation pile before I attempt to shop for more STUFF.

But, more importantly, I stopped talking to TWO toxic exes (the same TWO toxic exes that I have stopped talking to many, many, many times before, but might as well try again…there are posts coming up about this and they’ve all been written in very strange orders, so they may not make sense and/or they may be extremely repetitive, such is life). 

I cleaned out my friends on Facebook, updated my privacy settings and hid some people who update way too much. I saved up all the junk email I got for the last week and unsubscribed from all those lists.

I deleted a lot of numbers from my phone. It was ridiculous the number of “[insert rando’s name] pof” entries I had, all men I’ve collected from the dating site I’m on. I couldn’t remember who half of them were.

Speaking of, I took down my profile on that awful site. Well, I saved the text because it’s furny, but I am no longer looking for men from that site. I do have a few I’m in contact with that we’ll see where it goes, but I’m off it.  I might head to the big leagues (eHarmony) eventually. 

But not now because my focus for January is half training. My runs are getting long, which means I can’t fit them in before work anymore and I’m not going to risk skipping one because some tool wants to take me to happy hour.  And since I’m an eternal people pleaser, if someone asks me if I’m busy on a certain night and the only thing on my calendar is “just” a training sesh, I might be inclined to say no I’m not busy, which is why “honor appointments with myself” is on my list of resolutions for the year.

Even poor Rebel is getting the back seat.  Speaking of…I just don’t know what to do with him. Should he go out with the old year? We still haven’t had sex and my friends who know me well are kinda like, “well then it’s not going to happen girl, you’re obviously not into him.” I can’t decide if it’s because I’m not into him or if it’s because of my baggage or if it’s because, while I like him, I can’t see myself getting serious with him because he’s a server (the schedule sucks with mine and it doesn’t scream adult) and a smoker (health is so important to me and the idea and smell of it is such a turnoff) and to me, sex = oxytocin = serious = getting attached = not sure if I’m ready.

So, while there are still some things looming overhead, following me from last year, for the most part, I feel lighter going into the new year with a mostly fresh start.  My parents have a traditional January first meal they like to make for good luck, but the timing didn’t work out for me to be around for it, but I told them that 2010 was good and 2011 was going to be even better and I really belive it!

One thought on “GTFO

  1. Pingback: And then they started falling out of the rafters. « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

