In Which Reverb 10 Makes Me Feel Like a Slacker

Reverb 10, Day 20  Beyond Avoidance What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

Currently my back seat is full with a printer I need to drop off at Goodwill, toys I need to get to a Toys for Tots location ASAP and clothes, shoes and books that I’ve been meaning to clean out.  I have a basket full of magazines to read and too often my laundry piles up or I do a quick pick up instead of taking time to actually clean my house. Procrastination could be my middle name.

I’ve had “roll over 401(k) to a Roth IRA” on my to-do list for about two and a half years since I left my first job.  I actually attempted to do it on Friday to AVOID taking this avoidance into the new year with me, but found out that with my new job (at a financial services company), the regulations are something I was not expecting to have to deal with, so I put it off again. 

I visit the animal shelter more than I’d like to admit because I want to get a pet, but there are many things that have me avoiding it.  I’ve been avoiding getting a bike to run errands.  I’ve been avoiding volunteering.  Wow, way to bring me down and make me feel like a slacker, Reverb 1o! 

On the bright side, 2010 has felt like an accomplished year for me in terms of some big things I’ve been putting off and finally did – completing a race, taking a solo vacation, becoming a personal trainer (well, at least getting certified).  Creating my 101 list helped me focus on the things I’ve always wanted to do and gave me a time frame to help me stop putting them off for “someday.”

Next year, I’d like to be able to say I did all the little things and even more of the big.

2 thoughts on “In Which Reverb 10 Makes Me Feel Like a Slacker

Leave a Reply

