Family Appreciation Night

Reverb 10, Day 14 Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

Family.

In 2009, I moved back to Arizona to be close to my family again.  I moved back into my small, childhood home with my parents for the first three months and constantly questioned that motivation and my sanity (but, I was well-fed and handed a hot cup of coffee every morning). 

A little distance (first 3 miles, now 30) and some lower lows and higher highs than we’ve dealt with as long as I can remember in 2010 has made me truly appreciate them. 

Being an adult child is a strange thing, but we seem to have a dynamic that works at this point in our lives.  Part of that, for me, is accepting these people I love for who they are – obnoxious habits and all.  I know our relationships will continue to change over time, but we’re in a really good spot right now!

Hopefully I express gratitude for them enough. I think I have such a hard time picking Christmas gifts because they mean so much to me and I want to show them, but this year, I’ve realized that gratitude for those you love is expressed in the little moments – manicures with my mom, wedding planning time with my sister, talking Steelers or finance with my dad. 

I’m not sure if my story ends in Phoenix, like I always thought it would, which puts me in a tough spot because my family KNOWS they’re the reason I moved back and I feel like if I moved away again, they would take it personally – especially my mom.  But I think the appreciation I’ve gained in the last year will help me show my gratitude even if I’m a few hundred miles away again.

One thought on “Family Appreciation Night

  1. Pingback: On How Panicked Shopping Kinda Worked Out « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

