A Feeling of Awakening or Awe

Reverb 10, Day 4 Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

Wow.  Way to call me out, Reverb 10.  As an introvert, as a blogger, as an over-analyzer, I WONDER about a lot.  But, have I done much to “cultivate a sense of wonder”?  I’m not too sure. 

There were a lot of things I THOUGHT about doing that would have cultivated a sense of wonder.  At the top of the list, I started planning a trip to Belize to awe at their rainforest, jaguars, toucans and little spider monkeys; their Maya temples; the color and feel of their ocean; the taste of their seafood, rice and beans and chocolate – yum!  It got pushed aside – because of budget, because of vacation time – moved to a “someday” list.

I’m watching Knight and Day and Tom Cruise (can’t believe I’m watching a Tom Cruise movie, much less quoting him) just said something to the effect of “‘someday’ is a dangerous word because it’s really code for ‘never.'”

This year, to avoid my list of somedays turning into nevers, I made a promise to myself in the form of a Day Zero List.  101 things to do in the next 1001 days.  Some things on the list are silly, some are meaningful to me, some are big, some are small.

I have to admit that I cheated on today’s assignment a bit.  WordPress helped.  With their new “recommended links” feature, they popped up Wikipedia’s explanation of sense of wonder, borrowing from Brave New Words, The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction, it gave me this definition:  a feeling of awakening or awe triggered by an expansion of one’s awareness of what is possible or by confrontation with the vastness of space and time, as brought on by reading science fiction.

Screw science fiction, it’s never really been my thing.  My 101 list, the 25% I’ve completed since June and other challenges I’ve faced and conquered this year have awakened me and allowed me to awe at myself as I become aware of and stretch what’s possible in my life.

Leave a Reply

