My First Swag

I know, I know, I was just lamenting my upcoming race (today!).  Or, more accurately, my lack of training for it.  But, I picked up my race pack the other day and got excited.  Check it out!

A cute shirt, wrist band and my first timing chip. Jamba discounts, other offers and running food I’ve only read about on serious runners’ blogs!  I’m excited to try some!  I think the key is that it’s a longer race, but they gave the same goody bags to everyone, even those of us with only enough guts to try the 10K.

So…and NOT just because of the swag, but because the excitement of having an event to look forward to…I’m seeking my next race. 

Completing a half-marathon is on my 101 in 1001 list and the 10K was my stepping stone, so now it’s only fitting to get going on the next step.  A lot of the races I’m looking at increase their entry fees go up around the first of the year (and Lord knows I love a good deal), so I have a month and some to decide what I’d like to do…and I suppose I should wait to see how today goes!

UPDATE:  Apparently the way to run your first 10K is hungover – slash – maybe still a little drunk.  A night out with TGISWOTSDAKHEFAWBOAKHFTD that had sweet and sour notes and a lot of wine kept me out way too late.  Luckily I woke up at 4:30 to set my alarm for an hour later and I actually made it.  I ran and walked and was surprisingly impressed with my run pace, which contributed to my overall time of 1:13.  Not what I wanted to do when I signed up for this race, but better than I was expecting based on my lack of training.  Definitely looking forward to my next one!

4 thoughts on “My First Swag

  1. I think one of the reasons I sign up for races is the swag. My last race had some terrible swag (such as Lara bars when it was 80 degrees outside!) so I’m crossing my fingers that my next race has better swag, hehe. (And wow, I didn’t know I could use the word “swag” so many times in one comment!)

    Yay on the 10K! That’s a pretty awesome time, as well!

  2. Pingback: Lush « The Next Moment

  3. Pingback: TMI « The Next Moment

  4. Pingback: A Cute, Little Wine Bar « The Next Moment

Leave a Reply

